Skip navigation

Mayor Hancock Launches Multimodal Advisory Committee, Welcomes Inaugural Members

New committee will advise on implementation of Mayor’s Mobility Action Plan

DENVER –  Mayor Michael B. Hancock today welcomed the inaugural members of his Multimodal Advisory Committee (MMAC). The newly formed committee will play an integral role in the implementation of Mayor Hancock’s Mobility Action Plan, which aims to increase mobility options, improve safety, address climate change, improve public health and create smart connections.

“We’re supporting the mobility choices we know our residents want to make by accelerating the policies and projects necessary between now and 2030 to move more people, more efficiently and more safely,” Mayor Hancock said. “The MMAC will drive the whole community towards a more mobile future, as well as steer a community conversation about how best to fund and implement these crucial investments.”

The committee will provide a forum for engagement, discussion and feedback with residents and stakeholders around transportation and mobility improvements, as well as make recommendations through broad consensus on how to accomplish the goals of the Mobility Action Plan. Members will strive to understand challenges and opportunities at a deeper level through interaction with city staff and policymakers, and they will brainstorm solutions, communicate issues and socialize policies with outside groups.

The MMAC is composed of residents from various backgrounds and interests – including bike, pedestrian, transit, seniors and older adults, people with disabilities, youth, and others – and represent multiple Denver neighborhoods.

The following individuals (listed with their specific organizations, interest groups or backgrounds) have been selected to serve as inaugural members of the MMAC:

  • Spencer Borison, PA Consulting
  • John Desmond, Downtown Denver Partnership
  • Jose Esparza, BuCu West
  • Graciela "Chela" Garcia Irlando, Latino Outdoors
  • Cris Harden, SCL Health
  • Cliff Lind, Otak and Mayor’s Pedestrian Advisory Committee)
  • Katie McKenna, Habitat for Humanity and Mayor’s Bicycle Advisory Committee
  • Joel Noble, Inter-Neighborhood Cooperation
  • Carla Perez, Carla Perez Consulting
  • Maxine Pryor, Conference of Minority Transportation Officials and Maxx Impact Group
  • Angie Rivera-Malpiede, Northeast Transportation Connections
  • Eric Rolle, Shrewsberry & Associates, LLC
  • Casey Stock, DaVita and Office of Sustainability Advisory Council
  • Vivian Stovall, Representing Disabled and Senior Communities
  • Jeffrey Su, Mile High Connects
  • Paul Suss, Colorado Auto Dealers Association
  • Sindimwo Thierry, Denver Youth Commission
  • Darrell West, Mental Health Center of Denver and Major Taylor Cycling Club of Denver

Ex-Officio Members:

  • Angela Cobain, Denver Public Schools
  • Amy Ford, Colorado Department of Transportation
  • Amy Friedman, Denver Health
  • Ismael Guerrero, Denver Housing Authority
  • Doug Monroe, RTD
  • Nicole Portee, Denver Public Schools
  • Councilwoman Mary Beth Susman, Council District 5
  • Michael Washington, RTD

“The voices of our community and stakeholders are critical to improving mobility and transportation options for our residents,” said Eulois Cleckley, Executive Director of the Department of Public Works. “These dedicated individuals will help Denver find the best path forward in improving the way we move in and around our city.”

MMAC is scheduled to meet bimonthly, with the first meeting on Tuesday, May 22 from 4-6 p.m. in the Wellington E. Webb Municipal Building (201 W. Colfax Ave.), room 1.B.6. Members of the public are welcome and encouraged to attend.