Skip navigation

Fees & Sales Tax

Payment Options


Whether purchasing a new vehicle, transferring the ownership of a vehicle, inheriting a vehicle, or moving to Denver for the first time, you are responsible for payment of ownership tax and state licensing fees, each year at the time of vehicle registration throughout the life of the vehicle. For more information visit one of our Denver DMV branch offices (Denver residents only).

Payment types accepted
payment options include e-Check, Visa, Mastercard, Discover, American Express
The Denver DMV accepts cash, personal checks and all major credit cards.

Example tax calculations

Sales taxes are due one time after a new or used car purchase at the time you title your vehicle. You must also pay ownership taxes each year after the purchase of a vehicle.

Registration fee infographic on how to estimate sales tax


EXAMPLE #1: Sales tax to be paid in 2019 on the purchase of a 1998 passenger vehicle with a sales price of $17,000 and a $2,000 trade-in allowance.

$17,000 - $2,000 = $15,000 x 8.31% = $1246.50

Sales tax is calculated on the net purchase price (which is the total purchase price less the amount allowed by a dealer for any trade-in). The rate of tax for Denver County residents is as follows:



Sales Tax  Rate
Colorado State Tax 2.90%
Denver City Tax  4.31%
Total Sales Tax 8.31%

The State of Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles also offers a fee estimator on their website

We cannot quote exact fees online or over the phone

Denver County Motor Vehicle cannot quote fees online or over the phone. Fees are based on the vehicle's age, weight, taxable value, and month of registration. To find out the exact amount of your taxes and fees, visit any of Denver's DMV branch offices (Denver residents only) and bring the necessary registration documents.


Motor Vehicle Locations, Hours, and Wait-times

Trending Services

Not Registered to Vote?

Register to vote, find your registration, check your registration status and more!

Looking for Driver's License Info?

Denver County Motor Vehicle Offices Do Not Provide Driver's License Services.

Driver's licenses, ID cards, and driving records may be obtained at state offices only.
Visit below to learn more:


Late fees

Registration renewals must be completed by vehicle owners within the expiration time frame including the one-month grace period, or late fees of $25 per month—up to a total of $100 per vehicle—will be assessed. Vehicles owners who have recently purchased a car must register their new vehicle within 60 days or late fees with be assessed beginning on the 61st day after the purchase date if vehicle is not registered.


April expiration (including one month grace period) will be good through the last business day of the month, by May 29*:

      Add $25 – on June 1, if not registered
      Add $50 – on July 1, if not registered
      Add $75 – on August 3, if not registered
      Add $100 – on September 1 or later if not registered

Total:  $100 in late fees

* The vehicle will also be subject to monthly back ownership tax and vehicle registration fees, which were due in April at the time of expiration.

The penalty for late registration of any non-motorized vehicle that weighs more than 2,000 pounds but not more than 16,000 pounds, and any camper trailer or multi-purpose trailer regardless of its weight, is $10.

Example 1

March expiration (a month grace period) will be good through the last business day of the month, by April 30:

      Add $25 – on May1, if not registered
      Add $25 – on June 1, if not registered
      Add $10 – on July 1, if not registered

Total:  $60 in late fees

Example 2

July expiration (a month grace period) will be good through the last business day of the month, by August 31: 

      Add $10 – on Sept 1, if not registered

Total:  $10 in late fees


Titling fees

For name changestitle transfers lien changes, and lien removals, the fee is $7.20

For duplicate title, the fee is $8.20.


License plate fees

License plates fees. Colorado has both standard and special plates available, and both may be personalized. To learn more about plates and fees, visit our  license plates page.

Temporary tags/ permit fees. 
The fee for a temporary permit includes  sales tax and late fees (if applicable), plus $7.08 for the temporary permit.