Skip navigation

2020 City Closures

The holidays listed below are observed by the City and County of Denver, and shall be granted to all employees except on-call employees. Some employees may be required to work on a holiday(s) in order to maintain essential services to the city.

Due to the financial deficit caused by the COVID-19 pandemic, the city has made the difficult decision of implementing furlough days. There will be eight furlough days, five of which are scheduled around holidays and Denver Public School closures and three that are flexible for employees.

2020 Holidays

New Year's Day
Wednesday, January 1, 2020

Martin Luther King Jr. Day
Monday, January 20, 2020

Presidents' Day
Monday, February 17, 2020

César Chávez Day
Monday, March 30, 2020 (observed)

Memorial Day
Monday, May 25, 2020

Independence Day
Friday, July 3, 2020 (observed)

Labor Day
Monday, September 7, 2020

Veterans Day
Wednesday, November 11, 2020

Thanksgiving Day
Thursday, November 26, 2020

Christmas Day
Friday, December 25, 2020

Personal Holiday*

 
2020 Scheduled Furlough Days

Monday following Independence Day
Monday, July 6, 2020

Friday before Labor Day
Friday, September 4, 2020

Denver Public School Closure
Monday, October 19, 2020

Friday after Thanksgiving
Friday, November 27, 2020

Day before Christmas Day
Thursday, December 24, 2020

Flexible Furlough days
Three to be taken by the end of the year